Edo 2020: INEC Releases Final List of all the Aspirants

Written by O'News Blog

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has published the final list of candidates for the 2020 Governorship Election in Edo State.
The list had 14 political parties with the AA producing the youngest set of candidates in Edemakhiota Godwin and Sunday Johnbull aged 35 years respectively while the ADP followed with 36 year old Ibio Lucky Emmanuel as Governor and 35 year old Desmond Kola Imusien as the deputy governor.

The PDP has the oldest pairs in Godwin Obaseki, 63 and Philip Shuaibu, 50 while only two females are in the race with no persons with disability.

In a statement made available on Saturday by Festus Okoye Esq., INEC National Commissioner and Chairman, Information and Voter Education Committee, the publication was in compliance with INEC’s Timetable and Schedule of Activities and in accordance with Section 34 of the Electoral Act 2010 (as amended).
The list of candidates, Okoye noted, is on display at the Commission’s offices in the Benin City, the Edo state capital and the 18 Local Government Areas of the State as well on the Commission’s website.
By this, no Political Party can withdraw or substitute any of the nominated candidates or tamper with the List and particulars of the candidates in a manner inconsistent with the intendment of the Constitution and the Electoral Act.

See also  Police Arrests Traffic Robbers And Cultists In Lagos

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.